Way, Truth, Life

Day 11—John 14:5-14

Thomas said to him, “Lord, we don’t know where you are going, so how can we know the way?”

Jesus answered, “I am the way and the truth and the life. No one comes to the Father except through me. If you really know me, you will know my Father as well. From now on, you do know him and have seen him.”

Philip said, “Lord, show us the Father and that will be enough for us.”

Jesus answered: “Don’t you know me, Philip, even after I have been among you such a long time? Anyone who has seen me has seen the Father. How can you say, ‘Show us the Father’? Don’t you believe that I am in the Father, and that the Father is in me? The words I say to you I do not speak on my own authority. Rather, it is the Father, living in me, who is doing his work. Believe me when I say that I am in the Father and the Father is in me; or at least believe on the evidence of the works themselves. Very truly I tell you, whoever believes in me will do the works I have been doing, and they will do even greater things than these, because I am going to the Father. And I will do whatever you ask in my name, so that the Father may be glorified in the Son. You may ask me for anything in my name, and I will do it.


Sometimes fear causes us to act and say things we don’t mean. Why would Thomas ask the question in this passage, and why did Jesus reply with His statement? Thomas wants to follow Jesus, because Jesus is leaving, but Thomas doesn’t know where Jesus is going, and he doesn’t understand. Jesus answers by saying who He is: “I am the way and the truth and the life. No one comes to the Father except through me. If you really know me, you will know my Father as well.” Philip stepped in and said, ”Show us the Father and that will be enough.” Jesus says, “Don’t you know me, Philip, even after I have been among you such a long time? Anyone who has seen me has seen the Father. How can you say, ‘Show us the Father’? Don’t you believe that I am in the Father, and that the Father is in me?“

I think both men are dealing with fear. They have been with Jesus for three years and yet they don’t understand what Jesus is about to do. Thomas wants to go with Jesus, Philip wants to stay. Jesus does not address their questions but tells them who He is and of His commitment to the Father.

”Jesus answered, ‘I am the way and the truth and the life. No one comes to the Father except through me’” (John 15:6). Through these words, Jesus reveals His love, character, concerns, desires, instruction, dedication, strength, and wisdom. Jesus is the only way to the Father, because of His relationship with His Father. Their relationship is intimate—they know each other to the core. Jesus only does what the Father asks; He is committed to the Father. Jesus only speaks the truth; He abides in the truth of the Father. Jesus wants us to know who He is; that He is in the Father and the Father is in Him. Jesus wants the Father to be gloried.

Jesus wants us to believe in Him. In this fallen world, filled with lies and deception, we can easily get thrown off course. Jesus is telling us that He is the way. Don’t follow the world, but follow Him. He is the Truth; His truth gives us all the strength we need in this world. He is the life; the way in which we should live.


Dig Deeper

What fears and doubts do you need to bring to Jesus today so that He can show you His way, truth, life, comfort, and power?

Family Talk

Think of a time you said “I doubt it”. What made you doubt? When have you doubted something and found out you were wrong to doubt? Jesus told Thomas the truth about rising from the dead but he still doubted. How can you trust Jesus today?

Leave a comment